R: 198 Seats (45%)

D: 233 Seats (54%)


  • Lower House of the Congress.
  • Has 435 elected members; divided among the 50 states in proportion to their total population; in addition, there are 6 non-voting members, representing the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and 4 other territories.
  • Part of the Legislative Branch: makes laws.
  • Representatives serve 2-year terms (no term limit).
  • The entirety of the House of Representatives is elected every 2 years.


  • Can make laws.
  • Can investigate.
  • Can declare war.​
  • Appropriate funds/raise taxes

Unique Powers

  • All spending bills must originate in the House.
  • Impeach federal officials.
  • Decides presidential election in the event of a tie in the Electoral College.


  • Speaker of the House - Nancy Pelosi (Democrat).
  • Majority leader - Steny Hoyer (Democrat).
  • Majority whip - Jim Clyburn (Democrat).
  • Minority leader - Kevin McCarthy (Republican).
  • Minority whip - Steve Scalise (Republican).


  • Members must reside in the State they represent (not necessarily the district).
  • They must be at least 25 years old.
  • Must have been a U.S. citizen for at least 7 years.



To Senate >

About Us

Our mission is to create an easy way to learn about United States politics. Unfortunately, many citizens aren't informed about their own government, much less about the politics that take place within it. We strive to create a non-biased environment in which users can learn about the differences between the political parties and the way that the government functions. Additionally, we provide up-to-date information on who holds various offices in the United States based on party and ideology. We hope that you will use the information on this site to be an informed voter and active participant in this great nation.

  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon